The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Back! (Well, almost) July 1, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 2:25 pm

I’m on the train home! It was interesting getting there–my shuttle was late, so I got there right in time for the final boarding call. Then I tumbled down metal and concrete stairs (just bruises, no serious damage), then had an asthma attack and had to dig through my bag for my inhaler. Then I got to Wilmington and realized I left my purse in the shuttle–luckily, without the cash or debit card. Fun morning.

I’ll get to Springfield around 3:00 this afternoon, and from there it’s about 30-45 minutes back to Northampton.

It’s been an interesting four months. I’m sure I’ll write more about it later, but it did help in a lot of ways. But I’m glad to go home, too. Funny and not-so-funny stories will follow.

I can stay in my apartment month-to-month, which is a relief. At least I have a home until December. But I can’t keep Winston. I can’t really talk about it without crying, and I don’t want to do that on a crowded train. It’s going to feel so empty without him.

I also caught a fun autoimmune disease there–probably ulcerative colitis but possibly Crohn”s. I spent a week in the medical hospital, and I’ve never talked so much about my poop in my entire life. And I’ve already heard every lame joke about feeling like shit or losing my shit. (Okay, I confess I made most of those lame jokes.) And let me tell you exactly how much fun it is to have horrible GI issues while you’re somewhere with twenty bathrooms and two people. Also, the worst pain I’ve ever felt, and I have a pretty high pain tolerance.

I’m doing better now, though. On the highest doses of both the meds for it, and lots of new dietary restrictions. Basically, just don’t eat food.

I’m on a bunch of new psych meds too. My psychiatrist there really knew what she was doing. Some people didn’t like her because she’s reserved and emotionally undemonstrative, but I got along well with her. I really liked my therapist, too. I had some (cough cough) issues with some of the nursing staff, but others I liked. I got along well with the art therapist and the occupational therapist especially. I’ve got a bunch of artwork I did, mostly a series of mandalas, and I did some leather working and bookbinding. I’ll post some pictures sometime soonish.

It’s nice to be free again. I worry how I’ll do back in the real world–god knows my train near-disaster didn’t go so well–but I guess I have to wait and see how things go.

 

3 Responses to “Back! (Well, almost)”

  1. Bourbon Says:

    How wonderful to hear from you again! I was just thinking about you this morning! xx

  2. Pen Says:

    Oh! So very very happy to see you!! I can wait to see pics of your crafting, that sounds like fun. I’ve never seen bookbinding 🙂

    Get home and settled safely! Looking forward to hearing more.

    P.S. I’m very sad to hear about Winston. I have no good words. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. mm172001 Says:

    I always return from inpatient with some funny stories and some not so funny. I actually started a humor blog and plan on adding some of the funny stories to that one. Glad you’re back!


Leave a Reply

