The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Contact March 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grainne @ 2:11 am

Hello Folks,

Good News!  I finally hit the right time to call and connected with Sara 🙂

She is doing okay, not feeling great but still pushing on.  She told me that she was having a hard time with the restrictions and I couldn’t blame her when I heard, they took away her lap top, phone, Nook and knitting.  I guess they want patients to have no distractions other than … healing?  (I’m not sure I agree with that term but I couldn’t think of what to call it otherwise).

The usual issues with things like food she can eat are getting sorted out.   She said her psychiatrist was okay and didn’t seem to be the type to throw meds at every patient, which is great.

Overall, she sounded sad but strong.  She’s sticking it out to see how much they can help her, trying not to form opinions on anything just yet…only two days into treatment.

The phone, of course, it a hot commodity in her ward so I told her I’d give her a call next week (mon/tues).  I’ll update you guys then.

All the best!
Grainne

 

12 Responses to “Contact”

  1. I wish her all the best, hope she’ll get better there 😉

  2. I hope she can move out of this place to a happier life and love herself, so young. I wanted to kill myself in my teens and 20’s too. I am in my 50’s now and so very glad I hung in there. Life can be beautiful no matter how far gone you are right now, Sara is in my prayers.

  3. Pen Says:

    That’s unfortunate that they took away even her knitting. I am not the type to do without any distractions, but perhaps there are some other things she can do. Hopefully she’s still able to read. I’d go crazy(er) without books 🙂

    Thank you for the update. She is wonderful and amazing for sticking this out. And so strong for waiting on forming opinions. I think that means she’s already looking at that path of healing . It’s a big step.

    Sending so many many many healing and warm thoughts.

    • Grainne Says:

      I was surprised they took away her tablet. I’m not sure what harm could come to someone reading a book on an e-reader, but I guess rules are rules. I wouldn’t do that well….I need my distractions to keep me going.

      Thanks for the message here. I’ll be sure to pass it along to Sara next time we speak.

  4. strangelings Says:

    If you get ahold of her before I do, ask if it’s ok to pass the address there on to me, please? I don’t have it (thought she’d emailed it to me but I can’t find it *sigh*).

    D.

  5. Neloran Says:

    I sent her some things in the mail to keep her busy. Will send her some more things this weekend. 🙂

    That’s a shame that she couldn’t use her laptop. They must have changed the policy since I’ve been there.

    -Nel

    • Neloran Says:

      PS — Grainne, they have the patient pay phones off during group times. The best time to call are during breakfast, lunch, and dinner/evening. You are right, though, they are hot commodity times.


Leave a Reply

