The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Preparations February 15, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 2:10 am
Tags: , , ,

Sheppard Pratt will probably have a spot for me by the middle or end of next week.

Part of me says, “Finally!” Another part says, “Already?”

I’m suddenly very scared.

But I found foster care for Winston while I’m gone–the local animal shelter finds temporary foster placement in situations like ours. I took him in today for a behavioral analysis, and he passed. Really his only problem behavior is jumping on people when he gets excited–and he gets excited any time people other than me are around. It’s actually kind of cute how happy he is to meet people. If he were a smaller dog, the jumping would just be annoying, but he’s a 70 lb German shepherd/husky mix. He’s almost knocked me down more than once and could easily knock down a kid. And he gets wound up when he’s around a lot of people and critters, which is pretty much the description of an animal shelter.

So I was really proud of him for passing the test, and relieved they’ll be able to foster him. Means all our training is paying off! When I got him he was a serious biter–I’m talking tearing through my jeans and breaking the skin–and was not house trained. The rescue didn’t tell me any of this, so I was totally unprepared when I brought him home. I can’t afford to get a trainer, so we’ve done all his training on our own. Good boy, Winston!

I just don’t know what I’ll do without him for this long!

Gratuitous Winston picspam because he’s so cute.

20130214-210948.jpg

20130214-210957.jpg

20130214-211006.jpg

20130214-211012.jpg

20130214-211018.jpg

 

12 Responses to “Preparations”

  1. kate1975 Says:

    I’m glad that you are coming up on the wait list soon. I know this has been a tough time waiting. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  2. Grainne Says:

    Wonderful (scary) news! And you’re so right..Winston is a real cutie pie…glad he did so well and will get to visit a nice foster home until you come back. ❤

  3. Pen Says:

    He is such a handsome boy. I know it’s hard training a young dog, so you are super amazing for all your accomplished with him. I wish you lots of luck at SP. I’ve never done anything like that, so I don’t really know what to say about it, but I do really really hope it’s healing for you because you are a fantabuloso person.
    ❤ ❤

  4. gypsy116 Says:

    He is so cute 🙂

  5. Serenne Says:

    that dog. I cannot even with how adorable he is!! what a precious little thing!! Good luck in SP. I really hope it goes well for you, and you get what you need. I have no words of advice etc but thinking of you (both you and that gorgeous boy!)

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Thanks. I really appreciate it.

      I’m pretty sure Winston knows exactly how cute he is. When he wants something, he’s really good at doing the puppy dog eyes. And when he wants cuddles, he’ll nudge his face up against my hand over and over until I pet him, or lean up against my legs and plop his chin down on my lap. Faced with that, how can you NOT melt and give him lots of love?

      Sorry, I like to talk about my dog. I don’t know what I’ll do without him while I’m at Sheppard Pratt!

      • Serenne Says:

        It’s ok, I love talking about my dogs – all dogs actually. hehe. I did think that, but I thought I won’t put it in my comment in case it reminds you and makes you sad. I’m sure you’ll both be fine and think how amazing it will be to be reunited with him! It’s like when I go out even for 30mins then come home my dogs jump on me like it’s been years! Imagine how much he’ll nudge you then! 🙂 He sounds so charming, if I were closer (on the same land mass for a start!) he would most certainly have been welcome here while you’re away. It was actually the first question my partner asked when we read your blog! (attracted because of his face of course) 😀

      • weordmyndum Says:

        Yeah, I’ve had him seven months, and the longest we’ve been apart was a weekend. When I went to pick him up from the kennel, he got so excited he peed all over the floor…and just kept peeing! I’m sure the people at the kennel are used to it, but I was embarrassed because he never does that at home.

        I’m really grateful that our humane society does this temporary foster care program, but I am really gonna miss him. He’s my big furry baby.

  6. He’s become so huge! I can hardly imagine him being that cute puppy you photographed at first… Not that eh isn’t cute anymore, he totally is the cutest 😉

  7. strangelings Says:

    He is ridiculously cute. I will email with some advice on SP- I’ve done three trauma programs, none of them that one- but I do know several people who’ve been there. Did you manage to find out if you can have your laptop? I know when Dn. was there she was all pissed because it turned out she *could’ve* had it, they just wouldn’t let her have the power cord and it had to charge in a therapists office or some such…

    Please email/txt/whatever me the contact info when you have it so I can stay in touch.

  8. JaguarJill Says:

    Best of luck to you and him! Stay strong for each other!


Leave a Reply

