The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Fuck all January 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 6:01 pm

Because apparently my life didn’t suck enough already, now I have fraudulent charges on my debit card. To the tune of $2500.

I called the bank and told them these weren’t my charges–they’d flagged them already. But the charges may go through, and I have to wait 72 hours to see, and then I might have to hash it out with their claims department. Meanwhile I have $0.15 in my account, and the only food I have is a can of soup and some baby carrots.

I don’t even know how it happened. I’m responsible with my debit card. I haven’t shopped online in months, and I only do it through safe retailers. The last place I used my card was either Walmart or the pet store. I haven’t lost my card or lent it to anyone else. I don’t understand how it happened.

I’m sitting here literally shaking. I feel stupid being this upset, but I am.

 

9 Responses to “Fuck all”

  1. Hellosailor Says:

    Some bastard did this to me a couple of years ago. It makes me dispair that someone in the human race would do this to another human being. I’m lucky my card was insured so I didn’t have to pay any of it. HUgs xox

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Mine’s insured as long as they determine it was in fact fraud. I know it wasn’t me, but I’m paranoid the bank won’t believe me. I have no reason to think they won’t–$1500 was in Utah (I live in Massachusetts), and the rest was apparently donations to charities. (WTF, steal my money to donate to charity?) But I’m still afraid.

      • Hellosailor Says:

        I had the same paranoia. Mine did a few small transaction in a garage then spent loads on mobile phones. If you are far away from where the money was spent I’m sure the bank will figure it out. It is weird to donate someone else money to charity!

  2. i’m so sorry this has happened and really hope your bank sort it all out quickly for you

  3. Bourbon Says:

    Charity?? Why would someone do that?! How stressful. Fingers crossed they believe it was fraud. This certainly isn’t what you need to be dealing with on top of everything else. xx

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I know, right? It’s like something out of a sitcom. I had this creative writing teacher who used to tell me, “Sara, you can never write autobiography. Nobody would believe it.” I think this is another case in point.

  4. Wow. I’m so sorry to hear this. You really didn’t deserve that. Is there no way the bank can check where the money was spent? Perhaps that way they can track the fraud who somehow hacked your card. Fingers crossed for you!

    • weordmyndum Says:

      What most identity thieves do now is shop online, which makes them virtually untraceable. I could probably make a police report, but they probably don’t have the resources to investigate a “minor” incident like this.

  5. I’m so sorry! I hope the bank isn’t going to be stupid!


Leave a Reply

