The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Socks! (mostly) January 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 12:29 am
Tags: , , , ,

20130115-192543.jpg

20130115-192553.jpg
Zarathustra socks, work in progress. White is Valley Yarns Huntington; bluish is mystery stash yarn. US 1.

20130115-192708.jpg
BFF Socks. They were supposed to be my grandfather’s Christmas present, but I screwed up the second one and then got such a nasty case of Second Sock Syndrome that I never fixed it. He got a scarf instead. Yarn is some stash yarn I’m too lazy to find the name of. US 1.5.

20130115-192849.jpg

20130115-192857.jpg
Konnichiwa Slipper Socks. KnitPicks Swish Bulky. US 8. Very warm and cozy, and a wicked quick knit to boot.

20130115-193039.jpg
My So-Called Scarf. Malabrigo Rios, US 7. Work in progress. Yarn is actually even more purple than in the picture.

 

21 Responses to “Socks! (mostly)”

  1. Bourbon Says:

    Whats Zarathustra? 🙂

  2. Grainne Says:

    Omg theses are amazing!!! If I send you some yarn would you make me some of those slipper socks? Happy to compensate you for your time too :)))) (oh please? I’ve never seen something so comfy looking and my feet NEED them!)

  3. *swoons over all the socks* I really admire folks who can knit socks. You make it sound so easy!

  4. Pen Says:

    These are amazing! You rock so much! I can only manage scarves and a steering wheel cover for my car that I adore. Could never get the hang of socks or hats or actual usable clothing.

    I love the tan comfy looking ones. I’d wear those around my new lovely, but freezing, apartment. Lol.

    ❤ ❤

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I adore knitting socks. They’re small and easily portable, and they’re infinitely useful. I can make them to fit my teeny feet, which is great. Also, I prefer to work on very small needles–bigger ones make my knuckles ache after a little while. I have to get metal needles, though, because I snap wood and bamboo ones. Tension? What tension? I AM NOT TENSE GODDAMMIT

      • Pen Says:

        You remind me of Germany in a lot of ways. Though comparing you to other people is silly and unfair. I need to stop doing it.

        You are an amazing, witty, super-hilarious person who I feel privileged to know.

        I have the opposite of teeny tiny feet. Well, I have weirdly shaped feet. They aren’t super long, but they’re super wide. They’re like square feet instead of rectangular. People make fun of me a lot.

        At least I have tiny hands. I like that.

      • weordmyndum Says:

        I’m just curious why I remind you of Germany. I’ve never been and don’t know much about it.

        You’re sweet. Thank you. 🙂

        I feel ya on having weird feet. Now with my super-sexy ankle corset, I can’t fit into most of my shoes. So annoying.

      • Pen Says:

        I’m sorry, Germany is my alias for my best friend. I realize that’s super confusing. She does live in the country of Germany, hence the nickname.
        But obviously I’m just causing confusion. Lol. Your conversation style is much like hers.
        Although I could see you being like the country too, blunt, smart, but sweet and friendly once you decide someone isn’t a complete dumbshit.
        Actually….you, my best friend, and Germany (the country) are all very similar. Lmao.

        Fuck it, just wear slippers. This is America.

      • weordmyndum Says:

        Oh right, I knew that. I’m a little dense lately.

      • Pen Says:

        Nah. We were talking about the language and the place. It’s my fault for giving her a crummy alias.

  5. kate1975 Says:

    I love the purple in your scarf. Ohh I so much want it. 🙂 I also wanted to say that I love sci-fi, though that has nothing to do with this post. But I wanted to mention it because it has been so important to me in my life and healing and I notice each time I come here that it listed at the top of your blog.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  6. So amazing… Wish I could knit xD
    Those Zarathustra socks are really beautiful, I can hardly imagine how much work much go into that pattern. Where do you find the time?


Leave a Reply

