The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Owwwww January 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve done something unpleasant to my foot. It started hurting Thursday, but I thought it was no big deal. I spent the weekend resting (read: too depressed to do anything but sit on my couch and watch Grey’s Anatomy). I thought it was better, so I went to kung fu last night.

Bad call. Hurt like a bitch any time I put weight on it, along the outside edge of the top of my foot. It’s a mile and a half walk back home, and I had tears in my eyes.

I soaked it in a bath and then iced it, which helped temporarily. But it was still excruciatingly painful this morning. My PCP’s office couldn’t get me in until Friday, so I went to urgent care.

They think it’s either a stress fracture that didn’t show up on the X-ray (apparently it can take a week or two to become visible) or an injury to a ligament or tendon. They referred me to an orthopedist, and in the meantime, I’ve got an air cast and crutches.

20130108-133459.jpg
And awesome socks. But I already had those.

I also saw my psychiatrist this morning.

He suspects I might have something called cerebral folate deficiency, which is sometimes linked to MTHFR polymorphism, especially in people who also have a dairy allergy. I have both. There’s a test for CFD, but it’s not available in the US. *headdesk* However, there is a treatment, and it won’t hurt me if I don’t have CFD. He’s starting me on Leucovorin (folinic acid), which is usually used in cancer patients with dangerously low folic acid levels. He’s using it way off-label, but insurance will cover it.

He’s also starting me on Viibryd to see if that does anything for my depression. I’m not hopeful–I’ve been on literally every other SSRI on the market, and none of them have helped. But it’s worth a try. He has to get a prior authorization with my insurance, but he said there shouldn’t be problems getting it approved since I’ve tried so many other meds. In the meantime, he’s giving me samples. We’ll see if either of these new meds do any good. I hope so.

 

5 Responses to “Owwwww”

  1. Pen Says:

    Those are some rockin’ socks.

    I hope your foot gets to feeling better. I empathize with the depression meds, none of them seem to work for me either. They only knock my ass out for waaaay too long, which makes it impossible for me to do my job- which I have to do in order to attempt to avoid being homeless.

    ❤ ❤

  2. Grainne Says:

    OH noooooo. :S Well, at least it’s in a cast now so it won’t get worse if it is a stress fracture. Not like you needed more to deal with. Poor foot. (Super cool socks though)

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I don’t even know if the air cast will actually do any good. It’s mostly on my ankle, which isn’t where the pain is. And it’s a week before I can see the orthopedist. :-/

  3. Oh right, like you needed any more pain. Sorry you’ve got an ouchy foot. It sucks too that you’ve got to wait to get it seen to.
    Good luck with the new anti-dep. I feel your pain there, I went through so many of them and failed them all. Then I found Cipralex/Lexapro, and life got a bit better! Hope the new one works for you, or at least doesn’t suck too much.
    Rockin’ the socks too!

    Nick


Leave a Reply

