The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

I failed girl school January 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 6:36 am

I am not a girly girl. I’m most comfortable in jeans. I don’t wear makeup or heels. I can count on one hand the number of dresses I own. I love martial arts and science fiction.

My two sisters are both girly girls, the middle one in particular. Growing up, she was always trying to come at me with a curling iron or an eyeliner pencil.

My family is very attached to traditional gender roles. They just expect that I’ll eventually marry a man and have kids. They spent years teaching me to be ladylike: sit like this, walk like this, talk like this, eat like this, think like this.

I reject this.

I’m asexual and don’t plan to marry or reproduce. I have a big mouth and strong opinions. I like to hit and kick things. I swear profusely, sometimes in several languages. I’m comfortable in jeans and at sci-fi cons. I can burp louder than any boy I’ve ever met, and I put a six-foot former Marine on the ground because he said I couldn’t.

And you know what?

That’s okay. None of that makes me less of a woman or less of an acceptable person.

 

5 Responses to “I failed girl school”

  1. Grainne Says:

    I think it makes you a much more secure woman than those who hide behind heels and make up. 😀 I give the girly thing more of a ‘go’ than you do but even as I type this, I’m sitting at work in a big, comfy sweater, black jeans, boots, un-made-up with my hair still wet from the shower. lol. I don’t own a hair dryer or a curling iron, much to the chagrin of my girlier coworkers.

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I don’t know; I know plenty of secure girly girls. I think any way of being a woman is equally valid.

      But I am more secure being a woman my way than trying to be a woman someone else’s way. I can be comfortable in a skirt, but I feel very un-me when I try to go full girly girl. I like being female on my own terms.

  2. Pen Says:

    You are completely right. You are a perfectly acceptable woman in my book! I don’t like traditional gender roles either- but that’s because I’m very “switchy” with them (imagine that- a switchy DID-er…). Some of me prefers to get all dolled up and some prefer jeans and an oversized t-shirt and freak out if make-up comes near me.
    We are who we are.

    And we’re both obviously kickass ❤
    (I have also introduced a chauvinistic military-type to the floor because he implied I was too much of a girl to do so. Well, Rika did. Haha.)

  3. kate1975 Says:

    I am a failed girly girl myself. Back then they called it being a tomgirl, as though you were part boy. Actually one of my brothers made me do feats of daring one day in order to play with my brothers and he dubbed me with the title of half-boy when I did them all. Mostly they played with me. My sister ignored me.

    I don’t dress up, don’t own a dress. I don’t wear makeup, can’t do anything with my hair but let it air dry.

    All I gotta say is, good for you.

    Kate


Leave a Reply

