The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

I can’t hear you January 7, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 5:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Know what annoys me? Joggers giving me dirty looks and rude gestures when I don’t get out of their way as they come up behind me.

I’m hard of hearing. I can’t HEAR you getting close, and often I can’t hear you say “excuse me.”

Just because you can’t see my disability doesn’t mean it’s not there. I’m not being oblivious or being a jerk, so don’t assume. Don’t try to make me feel bad. Don’t you dare.

 

9 Responses to “I can’t hear you”

  1. Grainne Says:

    How rude :S I’d touch up on that sign language you learned those years ago…make them feel like complete assholes…pretend you’re completely deaf. xx

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I actually thought about that, after the fact. By the time it occurred to me, she was several yards ahead of me, being that she was running.

      This isn’t the first time it’s happened, but every time I’m too shocked to respond in the moment.

      We do have a school for the deaf in town…I bet they do ASL classes or could tell me somewhere that does.

  2. Pen Says:

    You should a shirt that says on the back “I’m not a jerk, I’m hard of hearing, mofo. Speak up!” 🙂

  3. That sucks, people think I’m a jerk because I don’t talk when I’m not-verbal so I guess people like to assume everyone is non-disabled. They are rude for assuming you can hear them.


Leave a Reply

