The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

The Underpants Rule: Psych Med Edition December 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 4:02 am
Tags: , ,

I don’t know what the deal is. My blog seems to have become the Grand Central Station of anti-psychiatry zealots. They keep telling me and my readers that our problems are All Because Of The Evil Psych Meds.

Yes, psych meds have problems. Yes, mainstream psychiatry is broken. But that’s not what this post is about.

This post is about the Underpants Rule, brought to you by Ragen at Dances With Fat. Go read her post. Seriously. Go. Then hit the refresh button and read it again. It’s that good and that important.

Taking meds–or not–is a very personal choice. Same goes for any method of treating mental illness. What works for one person doesn’t necessarily work for another. Likewise, what negatively affects one person might have no effect on a second person and wonderful effects on a third. Don’t assume that what’s true for you is true for anyone else. It’s incredibly presumptuous and incredibly fallacious to read somebody’s blog and assume you know what causes their problems. There is no way anyone can judge that from a blog by someone you don’t know from Adam’s cat.

Whether someone takes meds or not and what meds they take–that’s in their underpants. And reaching into someone else’s underpants is not something I tolerate on my blog.

You can be as anti-med as you want on your own blog. Hell, you can even be anti-med on this blog as long as you’re willing to have a respectful dialogue rather than engaging in evangelism. (See “My boat, my rules” if you can’t tell the difference between the two.)

But anyone else who pulls this anti-med evangelism here is going to be yelled at and/or mocked, then banhammered.

You’re welcome on my boat. Your evangelism ain’t. Keep your hands out of my underpants.

 

10 Responses to “The Underpants Rule: Psych Med Edition”

  1. Jaen Wirefly Says:

    Block them.

  2. Pen Says:

    I saw some of those comments and they were upsetting for me to read. I’m sorry they’ve sort of kept me away a bit. You don’t deserve that.

    And I completely agree with you. I don’t take psych meds myself (especially after my most recent experience of trying Elavil a month ago) because they make *my* system wonky. But I know they work perfectly well for others.
    And I will admit to totally self-medicating with my pain pills for my chronic problems when things get too scary, so it’s not like it’s something I consider taboo entirely.

    But that whole opinion is really beside the point because this blog is your safe space and no one should be criticizing your actions or choices in such a personally attacking manner. That’s just completely wrong.

    Sending warm thoughts ❤

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I’m sorry they were upsetting to you. That’s what bothers me most. I’m happy to argue with someone all day long, though I’ll probably refer to their fuckwitted twattery in exactly those terms, and people don’t tend to like that.

      But when you’re intimidating my readers, that’s where I draw the line. Not. Fucking. Okay.

      Plus, these people are cowards. They’re drive-by critics. When I respond to their comments, they never answer. I guess they’re too scared because they know I can run logical circles around them. I just wish they’d give me the chance. 😉

      • Pen Says:

        Hahaha. It would be awesome to see you cream them 🙂

        I just wanted to make sure you knew my brief silence was not caused by you at all ❤

      • weordmyndum Says:

        I know, right? It’s so much fun to terrorize people by by being way smarter and way better at logic than them!

        And no worries. I wasn’t offended.

  3. Ah well, I suppose it’s unavoidable that hardheaded people with strong and sometimes overly preachy ideas find their way to blogs like this…I have the same thing on mine. Doesn’t mean you should accept them annoying you!
    I’ll stay happily out of your underpants, I’m happy enough reaching into my partner’s 🙂

  4. Bourbon Says:

    I didn’t know you could block on wordpress?? Where was that button when I needed it!!!

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I don’t know of any way besides deleting individual comments. I looked for a way to ban particular IP addresses and couldn’t find one, but that doesn’t necessarily mean there isn’t one.


Leave a Reply

