The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

My boat, my rules December 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 4:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

Apparently I need to set some things straight.

Opinions are welcome on my blog. I love opinions. I’ve got a lot of them myself. I even like hearing opinions I don’t agree with–but be forewarned, I love to argue those opinions at great length. It’s my blog, after all, which means it’s mostly about my opinions.

Evangelism is not welcome on my blog. It’s annoying at kinda makes me want to hit you. And I have mad awesome nunchaku skillz, trufax.

So what’s the difference between opinions and evangelism?

Evangelists think everyone needs to believe as they do–and I’m certainly not just talking about religion; this can go for any strongly-held belief. Evangelists think everybody who doesn’t agree with them is misinformed or stupid and needs to be brought to the light. They batter you over and over with their beliefs. When you say, “What you’re saying doesn’t apply to me because of x, y, and z,” they refuse to engage; they just repeat the same crap. They often use scare tactics and statements of absolutes (“All people..,” “Everybody who…,” “Always…”). They’re unwilling to have any real dialogue.

Opinions are much more open. Phrases like “it seems to me,” “in my experience,” and “have you considered” are good indicators of opinions. See how they’re open to a world that’s not absolute? See how they invite conversation? That’s awesome. That’s what I want here.

I’m not saying you can’t have unshakable beliefs and participate on this blog. And god knows how boring it would be if I only allowed people who agree with me to participate. All I’m saying is that this is a place for conversation and dialogue, which requires an open mind and a willingness to consider alternate points of view. If you want to evangelize, do it on your own blog; that’s your prerogative.

Just keep in mind, this is my space, and I gleefully wield the almighty banhammer.

But don’t worry–this probably isn’t about you. If it is, you already know, since I’ve named you as an evangelist several times.

In the words of Captain Malcolm Reynolds: “You’re welcome on my boat. God ain’t.” (Just substitute “your evangelism” for “god.”)

20121217-114422.jpg

 

13 Responses to “My boat, my rules”

  1. Ouch! I’d still like to see you stay alive! Nancy

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Not directed at you, by the way. I was actually in the middle of writing this post when you commented. It’s directed mostly at somebody who keeps trying to convince me and my readers that psych meds cause all our problems and will probably turn us all into psycho killers who will shoot little kids or people watching superheroes.

      I apologize for the timing…I hit the publish button before reading your first comment. You’re still more than welcome here.

  2. Grainne Says:

    *cheers!* I think I live vicariously though your boundary setting a little. 🙂

  3. Bravo! Also, I love the banhammer! LOL

  4. Bourbon Says:

    Nice one. I would high five you if I could!

  5. Meagan Says:

    Good post! People need to stop trying to shove their beliefs down an unwilling throat! I was raised in the church (Baptist, Presby, Methodist) and I have been totally turned away from “Christians” because of their insecessint need to make me believe what they do. Don’t get me wrong, I consider myself a Christian and have a relationship with God, but it is my own. I will no longer tolerate ppl telling me that we must agree. And the worst part is that when you DON’T agree, they get nasty. They start lashing out and hurling personal insults. Whatever happened to a free country? Great post…I’ll def keep reading! 🙂

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Interestingly, the person who incited this rant wasn’t actually a religious evangelist. While evangelism can certainly be of a religious nature (and the word certainly is) when I use the term, I mean any dogmatic idea people try to force on others.

  6. religion: the only socially accepted mental illness xD
    Cheers to you!

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I was actually referring to someone who keeps pushing her anti-med agenda on me and some of my readers, even after I’ve repeatedly asked her to stop. When polite and calm don’t work, I’m pretty damn good at getting publicly ranty about it.

      I don’t have any problem with religion or religious people. I just don’t want to be pressured into accepting someone else’s beliefs, whether about gods or pills.

  7. […] long as you’re willing to have a respectful dialogue rather than engaging in evangelism. (See “My boat, my rules” if you can’t tell the difference between the […]


Leave a Reply

