The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Computer Rage December 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 2:47 am
Tags:

I’m about a tenth of a millimeter away from taking a hammer to my computer. I’m trying to write a nice resume for this internship I’m applying for. I downloaded this classy template, and I typed in all the info…and then when I save it, the formatting suddenly looks like gremlins had a drunken party with it. I’ve redone it four times–same result every single time. And to think, I’m claiming in my resume that I’m proficient in Windows, Linux, MS Office, and Open Office. *headdesk*

The position I want is the spring 2013 internship at the Bill of Rights Defense Committee, which is headquartered right here in downtown Northampton. They do work similar to what the ACLU does. Not sure what an equivalent organization would be for my international friends, sorry.

I think it would be right up my alley–I was the weirdo in high school reading Supreme Court opinions for fun. I even recapped Gideon v. Wainwright and Miranda v. Arizona as Shakespearean sonnets. (I wish to god I still had copies. Probably on a 3 1/2 floppy in my mother’s garage somewhere.

I just gotta get my resume to look like a grown-up did it, not a first-grader playing with word processing. And figure out how to write a good cover letter. I’ve never applied for a job before that required one.

I really want this internship.

 

One Response to “Computer Rage”

  1. Good luck with your application! Can you save it in a different manner? Sorry I am not an IT type of person so am not very useful. In e-mail resumes always look weird. It’s next to impossible to keep your formatting in an e-mail if you pasted from Word. I’ve tried pasting my resume and cover letter into an e-mail before and it always looks dreadful. Your best bet is to save it to a pdf and send it that way if your allowed to. Not sure if any of this helps. Sorry. Hope you can figure it out.


Leave a Reply

