The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Thanksgiving November 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 11:13 pm

Still feeling peaceful and good. It’s a nice change, even though I don’t know what caused it.

I went to the Windhorse Thanksgiving thing. I thought I’d just stay a little while, but I stayed the whole two hours. I got involved in conversation and didn’t feel terribly awkward.

I’m really thankful I found Windhorse. I’ve had some struggles in the end, but they’ve been willing to work it out. The people on my team care about me and support me more than they’re obligated to, and that means a lot. I’ve made a lot of progress in building a life during the time I’ve been here.

I’m thankful I’m 1000 miles away from my family. I’m not even being sarcastic. I’m much saner away from them, and they won’t or can’t see me for who I am. Here, on my own, I can be myself.

I’m thankful for the beginnings of the life I’m building: the internship with the attorney, the political work, and even my kung fu class. These are the kind of things normal people do, people whose entire lives aren’t overwhelmed by mental illness and trauma.

And I’m thankful for Winston. He’s amazing. I’ve never gotten that kind of unconditional love before. Okay, yeah, occasionally he pees on the floor when he gets excited, but it’s totally a worthwhile trade-off.

Just for you guys, here’s a picture of me and my slobbermonster.

20121122-181248.jpg

 

7 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. lindakay1948 Says:

    ‘So glad to hear you’re doing better.

  2. Grainne Says:

    ❤ what a wonderful pic of you and the pup!! (What a freaking cutie he issssss I want to kiss his ears, they look like velvet). I love knowing your face. I'll be able to picture you now when I have imaginary coffee with you in my head. *hugs tight*

  3. Windhorse sounds wonderful and positive and I am glad that you found such a great resource so young.


Leave a Reply

