The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Sandy October 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 12:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

So we’re about to get hurricaned.

I’ve got candles, a lighter, a Red Cross emergency radio/flashlight/phone charger powered by hand crank and solar panel, several days of food for me and Winston, a jug of water, and a good book. I guess that’s about as ready as I get.

My worry is flooding. I live in a first floor apartment, and there’s a creek right behind me. It’s already high because we’ve had a lot of rain already, and the swamp it runs into is also high. I can go to an emergency shelter, but what would I do with Winston? If nothing else, I can call my nurse, who already has a beagle. She’d probably be able to keep Winston, and she lives on a hill where she won’t get flooded.

It’s 8:30 and cloudy, but not too bad yet. Not even raining yet, but there’s a fair bit of wind.

I’m annoyed, though, because today was supposed to be therapy. They canceled service for the bus I have to take, but I probably wouldn’t have gone anyway. I have to walk a mile and a half from my apartment to the bus stop. Not too bad now, but during the return trip when it’s pouring and gusting, that would not be good. Don’t know how bad it’ll be, so I’ve got no idea when I could reschedule for.

Maybe it’s a message from the universe that I should just quit therapy.

 

2 Responses to “Sandy”

  1. Grainne Says:

    OH I hate storms. The wind is what gets me *shivers*..especially at night. I often long to live closer to water but when hurricane season hits I’m just as glad to be surrounded by earth. I’m not sure exactly where you are, but stay safe, my friend.


Leave a Reply

