The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

What’s the deal with rape? October 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 12:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Why are Republicans so scared of rape victims?

Every time I think they can’t get any worse in their treatment of women, they prove me wrong. I thought Todd Akin’s comment about how victims of “legitimate rape” have magic vaginas that keep them from getting pregnant was the most offensive comment possible. But now Richard Mourdock says if your magic vagina doesn’t prevent pregnancy resulting from rape, it’s God’s will that you carry and give birth to your rapist’s baby.

The polling data I’ve seen says Romney is catching up to Obama among women voters. I don’t get it. How could any woman vote for the Republican party? Sure, Romney is distancing himself from Mourdock’s comments now, but he appeared in campaign ads for Mourdock. Romney still supports him.

What is it about rape victims that Republican men see as such a threat? Why are they so afraid of us?

The only answer I can come up with is that they just don’t want to own up to the violence that straight white males inflict. They’re happy to talk about violence by African-American and Hispanic men, but they don’t want to admit to violence committed by their own clan.

After all, if you admit to violence committed by your group, you’re then obligated to do something about it.

It’s easier just to discredit us, shut us up. Whether it’s done by implying that many reports of rape are illegitimate or it’s done by telling us that God meant for us to be raped and suffer the consequences, the message is the same: “Stop talking about sexual violence. Don’t inflict your story on us.”

We can’t stop talking about rape. As long as it’s still happening, as long as rapists suffer no consequences, as long as victims are discredited because they’re not the “right kind of rape victim” (white, middle to upper class, virgin or monogamous, sober, attacked by a stranger, subjected to overwhelming force)–as long as these things keep happening, we have to keep talking about it. One in four women and one in seven men in the US will be victims of sexual abuse or assault in their lifetime. That number is way, WAY too high.

But the Republicans want us to sit down, shut up, smile, and cook dinner.

That’s not gonna happen. I’m not gonna shut up.

 

4 Responses to “What’s the deal with rape?”

  1. Grainne Says:

    I want to like this twice. Don’t ever shut up about it Sara. I’m right behind you, not shutting up either.

  2. sonamsangmu Says:

    I’m with you. I’m Canadian but I still watch what goes on in the U.S. and it scares me. How can Romney be gaining votes with women? He must be gaining votes with all the ultra conservative crowd b/c why else would a woman want Romney to lead the country? Obama needs to win back the women. I don’t know what will happen if Romney wins, I feel very concerned.

    • weordmyndum Says:

      I can only conclude that these women who are voting Republican must not be paying attention. Not knowing what’s going on is actually a point of pride for some people, which makes no sense to me.

      I’m terrified of a Romney/Ryan White House too. I’ve literally had nightmares about it. (You know you’re a political junkie when…)

      • sonamsangmu Says:

        Haha, yeah I haven’t had any dreams about Parliament or the White House. Guess I’m not enough of a politics junkie! LOL Well, that Canadian politics are usually on the boring side compared to American politics. We haven’t got a major election happening in a couple of weeks either. You could fall asleep watching Canadian politics. Heck, the parliamentary ministers have been caught sleeping on camera during debates! LMAO If you want something to fall asleep to try watching CPAC (Cable’s Political Affairs Channel…I think). Just go to:http://www.cpac.ca/eng/about


Leave a Reply

