The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

I’m the 47% September 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 4:22 am
Tags: , ,

Hey, Mittens: I’m part of your 47% of Americans who don’t pay income tax. (We’ll ignore, for the moment, that it’s actually 46.4%, and only 18.1% paid neither income nor payroll tax.)

I pay no income tax because I am disabled and have a very low income: $473.70 per month from SSI/SSDI. Where I live, I couldn’t rent a closet, let alone buy food and clothes and bus passes. Nor could I pay for the medical treatment I need to manage my disability.

Yes, I am one of those people “who believe the government has a responsibility to care for them, who believe that they are entitled to health care, to food, to housing.” Hell yes, I believe everyone is entitled to those things! Tell me, Mr. Romney, do you believe that because I’m poor, I should’ve been denied life saving brain surgery? Because I’m poor, should I have to live in my car and eat out of dumpsters? I’ve done that, but I’d be willing to bet the little money I have that you haven’t lived that.

I wonder, Mittens, when the last time you read our Constitution was. I recall this bit where it says our government was established “to promote the general welfare.” Generalmeans everyone, Mittens, not just the rich elite. If you’re instituting policies that would deprive people of basic needs, you’re not promoting the general welfare.

You talk a lot on the campaign trail about morals, and to me it sounds like nails screeching across a chalkboard. I can think of no better way to judge a person’s morals than by how he treats the most marginalized and vulnerable people. On that scale, Mr. Romney, you are failing. You and your vice presidential candidate like to talk about how you care about the plight of the poor, but when you think the mikes are off, we meet your true self.

You, Mr. Romney, are morally and governmentally reprehensible.

 

Leave a Reply

