The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Sick September 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 4:17 am
Tags: ,

I spent most of tonight in the ER. Really not fun.

I’d been feeling crappy for the last week or two. First I thought it was just allergies, and then I thought it was just a cold. I kept dragging myself through all the stuff I needed to do. Today after knitting group, I came home and tried to read, but I crashed out on the couch for an hour.

Then I woke up coughing because it was hard to breathe. I’m very prone to respiratory infections, though I get them far less frequently in Massachusetts than I did in Alabama–this is the first bad one I’ve had in the four years I’ve been in Massachusetts.

I called my nurse. I really didn’t want to go to the ER, but I knew I needed to. So we went. Apparently having a cough that sounds like tuberculosis and an oxygen saturation in the 70’s gets you seen really fast. I always get the horrible deadly TB sounding cough when I get bronchitis, do I’m used to it…but it freaked out the ER staff. Fine with me; it worked to my advantage.

I got a breathing treatment, a chest X-ray, and another breathing treatment. The chest X-ray was clear, which I figured it would be. It didn’t feel like pneumonia. The breathing treatments really helped, but now I’m all shaky from them. They sent me home with an inhaler and a prescription for 5 days of antibiotics, so hopefully that’ll clear this up. I already feel a lot better from the breathing treatments. I stopped coughing so much, and I don’t feel like someone’s squeezing the air out of my lungs. I might not do the farmers market table Saturday, though. I guess I’ll see how I’m feeling tomorrow night.

 

13 Responses to “Sick”

  1. That sounds awful 😦 I hope you feel real better soon!

  2. NIXY Says:

    Sorry to hear, seriously D:

    I have to ask – are you on my LJ and haven’t posted in awhile? ‘Cause I think I forgot this was your blog and got REALLY WORRIED you hadn’t been on Y!IM or LJ for a long long time. E-mail me if you want – demonsiget @ gmail dot com <333

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Yeah, I kinda abandoned my LJ. There was major drama with someone on my flist, and it just didn’t feel safe anymore. So I migrated over here.

      • NIXY Says:

        Ooh, I had no idea and was all over yer FB and sending LJ messages to see if you were okay/alive/etc D: I’m sorry about the LJ drama – fuck ’em though. Block them and I know it’s hard to do but don’t let them get to you. In the end, it’s just an idiot behind a computer screen with fake testicles because they’re “anonymous”. D:

      • weordmyndum Says:

        Well, it was someone I’d been friends with for years, and she even spent Christmas with me two years ago when I was in Boston. The majority of the drama happened via email, so most people didn’t know. She attacked me for being suicidal and just kept on. I tried to be okay with it, but then she posted about being suicidal. I unfriended her, which set off another attack, in which she enlisted another mutual LJ friend. So I just left.

  3. kittyhere Says:

    Take things slowly and stay well.

  4. Bourbon Says:

    Eesh that sounds quite scary to be honest! I get the shakyness though from the inhalers I am on atm. It is really unsettling :/ hope it calms down for you soon. Take care of you xxx

  5. Neloran Says:

    Ugh! I know exactly what that is like. Although I have never been so far as in the 70’s, that’s pretty low! Feeling for you…give yourself time to rest. Don’t push yourself too soon.

    -Nel

  6. Yeah me too. The ventilon in the nebulizer is what makes you shake and feel hyper. Sometimes just the anxiety and adrenaline too. I hope you feel better soon.

  7. brandic32 Says:

    That just sounds awful. I am so sorry. I’ve been having some sick stuff happening as well – sever coughing fits, sore throat, laryngitis, etc – but I really can’t complain, since it sounds like it wasn’t anything compared to what you had. Hoping you’re feeling better. xx


Leave a Reply

