The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Politics August 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 2:54 am
Tags: ,

I’ve been trying to keep politics off my blog. I guess I’m afraid I’d lose readers, people wouldn’t like me anymore, they’d say mean things, and I’d be all alone again.

I’ve led a very compartmentalized life–still do, in many ways. But I want to be all of myself as much as I can. There are some times I can’t. For instance, I don’t discuss my mental illness issues with the people I work with on the Obama campaign. But this blog is my space, and I want to be as whole as I can be here. And part of who I am is a volunteer and local data coordinator for Obama for America.

Probably I’ll talk more about the experience of working on President Obama’s campaign than about policy, though I can’t promise there won’t be any policy rants.

Probably some people will get mad. I might lose readers. People might comment negatively. I’ll try to be okay with that, even though it won’t be easy for me.

I just want to be all of me here.

 

6 Responses to “Politics”

  1. colourtheday Says:

    You SHOULD be yourself all the time πŸ˜‰ If people stop reading because you have a political opinion, you don’t need them, do you?

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Probably not, but it always throws me for a loop and makes me feel terrible about myself. I wish I weren’t so incredibly sensitive to what people think about me.

  2. Bourbon Says:

    I want you to be all of you here πŸ™‚ xx

  3. aynetal3 Says:

    We’ll still be here, AND as an aside … we really LOVE your guy!

    Our best,
    Anns

    http://newsdidmpd.blogspot.com
    http://annsmultipleworldofpersonality.blogspot.com

  4. Grainne Says:

    I think that’s a great idea. I also live my entire life compartmentalized, feelings, thoughts, expressions and experiences, however, the missing pieces are important. You and I are kind of in the same mode right now I think. I’ll make you a deal. If you lose a single reader because of something you post, I’ll write you an email telling you how much you’ve helped me over this last year (you really have no idea how much). I don’t think there’s anything political you could say that would turn me away and, as an added bonus, I don’t even life in your country so the politics are of little concern to me. πŸ™‚ xx

  5. ligeandcrew Says:

    That’s so great that you can do that. We volunteered for the local Democrats during the last election, and were ‘let go’ because the woman in charge could tell there was something different/wrong/whatever.

    Amazing that you got to shake the President’s hand! Omigod! Is he killer handsome in person ?

    Wow. That’s just so cool.

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

