The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

A room of her own June 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 3:26 am
Tags: , , ,

You guys…I HAVE AN APARTMENT! AND MY GRANDFATHER IS WILLING TO SIGN A ONE-YEAR LEASE!

 

THIS DEFINITELY CALLS FOR CAPSLOCK.

 

It’s a little ways outside of town, but it’s near the bike path, so I’ll get a bike. It’s a one-bedroom dog-friendly apartment, first floor, quiet complex, nice landscaping, and the leasing lady seemed really nice. It’ll be available on August 1. $975.

 

OMG YOU GUYS I AM SO EXCITED. I CAN FINALLY GET A DOG.

 

I am going tomorrow to put in my application and deposit. Then I have to find a bike. Or maybe I’ll do that right after I move so I won’t have to bother with moving the bike. And my landlord at the current place will do the moving for me for cheap.

 

Things are looking up.

 

I’m still hormonal and crazy, though. My fucking period still hasn’t come, and I am way less than thrilled about that. I saw my psychiatrist this morning, and he’s going to have me do a month-long saliva hormone test so we can pinpoint exactly what’s going on. But the fun part of that is I can’t take any hormones for that month. But maybe it won’t be any worse–I don’t think the progesterone I’ve been taking is doing much of anything anyway.

 

We also did a phone consult this morning with the sleep doctor in Boston I saw several years ago, and I have an appointment with her July 6. She said she’d have to do some research because apparently I’m a freak. (She didn’t say it in quite those terms.) The meds I take should kick in after no more than 30 minutes. After an hour or so, I get motor effects (lightheadedness, lack of coordination, inability to focus my eyes), but it’s 4 or 5 hours before I can actually get to sleep. That is not supposed to happen–in her words, I’m taking enough meds “to put a rhino under for several days.” So here’s hoping she can figure this out. I’ve been running on way too little sleep for way too long.

 

3 Responses to “A room of her own”

  1. *joins in with caps lock* WOOHOO! THAT’S AWESOME NEWS ABOUT THE APARTMENT. I’M SO HAPPY TO HEAR IT FOR YOU!

    I hope you some answers soon re: sleep/meds and hormones. Poor you.. you’re definitely doing it tough. Thinking of you xo

  2. Bourbon Says:

    Loads of good news — fab 😀

  3. brandic32 Says:

    Sorry to hear about the sleep difficulties. Hopefully the doctor will be able to figure out what’s going on.

    So excited for you about your new place! And that you can get a dog!


Leave a Reply

