The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Irrelevant June 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 6:25 am
Tags: ,

I’m looking into several different possibilities for volunteer work, so I’m trying to write a resume.

 

It’s depressing because I have almost nothing to report for the last 4 or 5 years.  I mean, I can’t really write “extensive experience with insanity and self destruction” on there, can I? That’s not a thing that inspires confidence in people.

 

I used to do so much.  I worked at a science museum, Teen Court, the zoo, a school for multi-handicapped kids, pro-choice group, Special Olympics, a home-repair program, taught creative writing to second-graders, helped in the nursery at my church.  The last 5 years, I’ve done nothing but sit at home, and there’s a huge gap in my resume to go with it.  I feel useless and worthless.

 

It’s also depressing because a resume leaves no space for personality.  I disappear into what I’ve done (or haven’t done).  It’s a rerun of growing up: all that matters is what you do, not who you are.  I don’t want that.

 

*sigh*

 

I know I’m hormonal and that’s why this is getting me down so much.  But just because I’m hormonal doesn’t make it untrue–I’ve done nothing in 5 years.  I really have become useless.  I don’t want to be irrelevant anymore.

 

6 Responses to “Irrelevant”

  1. Bourbon Says:

    You’ve never been irrelevant. The job you’ve had: recover, is the hardest job anyone could have. If only society was more welcoming of this as relevant life experience because it is very much so. Just a shame that on resumes we have to hide it. Good luck in getting the voluntary jobs 🙂

  2. I know the feeling, but like you said, you’ve done a lot in the past. It sounds as though you have a hell of a lot of experience in a broad range of settings. Just because you feel as though may not have done as much in the past 5 years doesn’t mean that all of that experience, all of that work, and all of those skills that you’ve developed have just dissolved into thin air. And in my opinion, through recovery, you’ve gained a whole new set of skills that add to those already there…

    Goodluck with the Volunteering!

  3. brandic32 Says:

    I think doing volunteer work is a great idea. And also with volunteering, you don’t usually need to have a perfect resume. They just want to know what sorts of experience you’ve had. A payed job is another story… I think this volunteer position – whatever it may be – will be a great opportunity for you to have more current experience to list on your resume when you are looking to apply for a paid position.

    Another thought – some of what you’ve been going through related to a very specific medical condition, does it not? I think it would be fair to tell prospective places that you’re looking to work/volunteer for – if asked – that you’ve had some serious medical issues that kept you from work, but that things are better now. Which is true, isn’t it? You wouldnt be including the psychological stuff, but there’s nothing wrong with that. They don’t need to know, nor is it their business to know that stuff.

    Good luck w the volunteer position.

    • weordmyndum Says:

      Yeah, I think if I do get asked, I will just say that I’ve been dealing with chronic illness, which is true. People will probably assume that means a chronic physical illness, but even that isn’t untrue.

  4. mm172001 Says:

    I feel the same way. Like lost years. I’ve only had 1 job in my life and it was for 4 years and 1 who year of it was disability. So not only is it that there is no real paid work, although I have some volunteer, but do I put I worked for 3 or 4 years.

  5. starclub1 Says:

    You made me laugh and I needed to laugh today. When you said you couldnt put insanity and self destruction on your resume. On a more serious note though, I am doing volunteer work over the simmer too. Starting with big brother big sister, and also working with adults who have learning difficulties and acquired brain injurys. I am studying childcare but I think you can never get too much experience. If you like you can check out our blog at
    http://manyofus1980.wordpress.com/

    Another didder here…xo ❤

    Carol anne


Leave a Reply

