The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

Ouch May 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — weordmyndum @ 1:56 am
Tags:

Last night at kung fu was the  kick-a-thon and board breaking fundraiser.  It was exhausting but awesome, and it was a good way to vent some of my hormonal rage.

 

Here’s a board I broke.

board

 

And here’s a hand I broke.

hand

 

Okay, really the hand isn’t broken; I just bruised the bone and ligament and sprained my wrist.  It was all puffy and pretty colors this morning.  I was just going to let it be, but my nurse and psychiatrist insisted I go get x-rays, so I spent half the morning at my doctor’s office.

 

It was my own fault.  When we were breaking, all the advanced students were using hammer fists for hand techniques.  I have broken boards that way before (admittedly, it was years ago), so I thought I’d show off.  I broke the board very nicely, but then I spent the last few minutes of class trying not to swear or cry.

 

So now I’m stuck in the wrist and pinkie splints for at least two weeks.  I can’t knit, and I can’t hit anything.  (With that hand, anyway.  I still have one hand, two feet, two elbows, and two knees that work fine.)

 

8 Responses to “Ouch”

  1. brandic32 Says:

    Please do let me know if you learn to knit with your feet! I’d want to know your technique!

    Seriously though… I’m sorry you are injured. I hope you recover real soon.
    Brandic

  2. Andie Says:

    Wow, I think it is pretty amazing that you can break a board with your hand. I don’t think I would be able to do it. I hope your recovery is quick!

    Andie

    • weordmyndum Says:

      It’s actually not that hard to break–I can break two boards held together with a side kick. The key is setting your intention to go through the board, not against it, to intend to hit the person holding it.

      When I was training in Yoshukai, my sensei told us that if you can break through a sheet of paper held taut, you can break a board. I don’t know how accurate it is, but it’s a hell of a lot cheaper to practice on notebook paper rather that boards.

      With the right training, I bet you can break. I’ve seen four-year-olds break, and I’ve seen an 80-year-old sensei break six bricks with his head. People can do amazing things they didn’t think were possible.

      • Andie Says:

        You are right, people can do amazing things they didn’t think were possible. Thanks for the reminder, I seem to forget that important fact times:) I think I may just look into getting the right training…probably a good idea to bust through this belief of mine! Thanks!

  3. colourtheday Says:

    That did not look good! I am very impressed too, and hope you get better soon. Please don’t try to hit anything with your other hand! 🙂
    Hugs

  4. ligeandcrew Says:

    Wow, you are such a badass! (Your biggest fan, Dodge) 🙂


Leave a Reply

